login   |    register
Photography
Questions about shooting your models and dioramas? Ask here.
Digital SLR's maintenance
Clanky44
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 15, 2005
KitMaker: 1,901 posts
Historicus Forma: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 11, 2006 - 05:04 AM UTC
Just found the only real 'con' to using a digital SLR (vs. standard digital camera) The dreaded dust spots. I've got three lenses that I interchange on my Nikon D70s, and in the few seconds it takes to switch these lenses, I managed to aquire a dust particle on the CCD sensor (charge coupled device). I blew off the dust particle, but in subsequent photos, it seems that a shadow remained where the dust spot hit the CCD. Luckly I live within half an hour fron the Nikon headquaters here in Toronto, and should get my camera back within a week, wil cost me from $70 to $160CDN depending on the extent of the clean-up......

Anybody else experience this wonder of modern technology?!?

Frank
Pedro
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wojewodztwo Pomorskie, Poland
Joined: May 26, 2003
KitMaker: 1,208 posts
Historicus Forma: 15 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 11, 2006 - 11:54 AM UTC
Hi Frank!

I had similar problem with my EOS 350D. I cleaned the sensor
(I think mines behind a little piece of glass, so I cleaned the
glass?) and in a few days new dust spots appeared. I never
thought the shadow may appear when theres no dust particle,
is it possible? Since that I don't bother with them, when
necessary I just edit them with software. I even got one lens,
and to think what will happen when I acquire some more

Cheers
Pedro
shonen_red
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Metro Manila, Philippines
Joined: February 20, 2003
KitMaker: 5,762 posts
Historicus Forma: 248 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 11, 2006 - 12:54 PM UTC
I had a Canon 350D and yes, dust bunnies do appear some times. I use a large rubber blower to remove the dust. And the good thing is, it's not expensive.
tankysgal1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Nebraska, United States
Joined: January 28, 2004
KitMaker: 1,430 posts
Historicus Forma: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 18, 2006 - 06:22 PM UTC
The Dreaded dust spots...And virtually nothing you can do about them except pray that they don't happen. That was a main consideration that went into my decision making when i bought my new SLR camera. The one i got has a Supersonic Wave Filter that vibrates 35,000 times per second to eliminate dust from the image sensor. It automatically does this everytime the camera is powered up, and also can be done manually if needed from the menu. A little extra in the price range..but well worth the fact that i can shoot pics virtually anywhere and under any condition without worrying about changing the lenses.


Mary
Clanky44
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 15, 2005
KitMaker: 1,901 posts
Historicus Forma: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 19, 2006 - 03:06 AM UTC
Hi Mary,

Good idea but the wave filter shakes the dust.... it doesn't remove the dust. Which means that given enough dust particles, you will eventually have to take it in to have it serviced.....then again maybe I'm just envious! :-)

Frank
Murdo
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Scotland, United Kingdom
Joined: May 25, 2005
KitMaker: 2,218 posts
Historicus Forma: 46 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 20, 2006 - 04:39 AM UTC
I had dust spots on my Canon DSLR so I wiped it VERY, VERY gently with a VERY, VERY SOFT brush!

They went away.

InfantryMan
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Coimbra, Portugal
Joined: July 26, 2003
KitMaker: 29 posts
Historicus Forma: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, August 04, 2006 - 03:35 PM UTC
Hello Frank
you should see some of this technics in the net

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/essays/sensor-cleaning.shtml
http://www.bythom.com/cleaning.htm
http://www.cleaningdigitalcameras.com/methods.html

I hope this wikk help you

Good pic

Pedro
jowady
Joined: June 12, 2006
KitMaker: 1,027 posts
Historicus Forma: 38 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 05, 2006 - 09:19 AM UTC
I'm new here but my background is as a photographer, as well as a manager of a photo chain. I also own a Nikon D70, and if you shoot in RAW format (Nikon calls it NEF) and also use Nikon Capture Software you can use the software to "teach" the camera where the dust spots are and to ignore them, eliminating the need to digitally retouch every shot. I haven't done it yet, but have been told that it works fairly well.